And Costa Rica?

When I’ve been telling people about my plan in person, this is about the time they say, hold up… and you’re going to Costa Rica?

Go big or go home.

When I get back from SE Asia, I’m spending 9 days in San Francisco – vacationing and dancing the night away at an amazing friend’s wedding. My mom is coming out for a few days, since I won’t actually be coming “home” to DC between my trips. I absolutely love San Fran and can’t wait to wander around! It will be great to have wifi, a warm shower, laundry and cell phone service after a month backpacking in Asia!

This little period of normalcy only lasts until 1:00am May 31st, when I get on yet another plane headed to San Jose, Costa Rica. I’ll spend one night in the capital before meeting up with new friends and traveling to Punta Banco. See that little surfer man right next to Pavones? That’ll be me.

Southern CR

So, who are these new friends? My yogi’s!

I’m headed to The Yoga Farm in Punta Banco to attend yoga teacher training 🙂 I am so, so, so excited about this month. I’ve been thinking about yoga TT for quite some time and started searching for a program in DC last summer. I didn’t find a program that meshed with my schedule and relocation plans, so I started looking for a program to start when I moved to Chicago.

It only took a little google searching to find Infuse Yoga Spa in Lincoln Park and see that they were offering a June intensive TT – in Costa Rica! Considering I was already in the midst of planning this big transition, my immediate reaction was, “hell yes! why not!” 🙂 I had the chance to meet with Andrea, the owner and lead teacher for training, when I was in Chicago over New Year’s and immediately hit it off. I left the studio that cold, snowy day knowing in my heart that I needed this trip to CR. And so I go.

Since the teacher training is a one-month intensive, as opposed to a 6, 10 or 12 month long program, I will be doing yoga from sunrise to sundown. Andrea promises time for surfing, swimming, hiking, relaxing and reflecting around the 200 hours of training we’ll complete. I will be completely, 100%, cut off from the “real world”. No internet, no phone, no blog, no cares in the world.

What a blessing.

The training centers around Ashtanga, Vinyasa and Hatha yoga, meditation, pranayama (breathing techniques), anatomy and alignment of postures. It will be a deep dive into all things yoga and take me way beyond my comfort zone.

It is going to be amazing.

Over the next month before SE Asia, I’ve got lots to practice, read, study and reflect on. I’m excited to start my yoga journey while I’m traveling – with plans to stop at the Yoga Barn in Ubud on Bali, and a Kindle app full of yoga readings to keep me busy in all my down time. Ha 🙂

2 thoughts on “And Costa Rica?

  1. SO MUCH JEALOUSY ABOUT YTT IMMERSION IN COSTA RICA. Holy moly, SO jealous. I’m trying to find a local YTT that starts in September-ish and am finding it so difficult since most of them start on a January cycle. I can’t wait to hear all about it after you’re done!

  2. Pingback: 60+ Days in a 40L Pack! | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

