Details, details!!

So I’m headed to Southeast Asia. Whaaatt?

Let the planning begin!

When I decided to move to Chicago, I thought – might as well take advantage of the big transition and take some time off to TRAVEL. This move isn’t just a relocation for me, it is a chance to embark on the next chapter of my life (and I don’t care if that sounds as cheesy as it feels typing it!) 🙂

The day-dreaming began a few months ago, when I started seriously thinking about where I wanted to go. I knew I wanted to go somewhere brand new to me, that was full of culture, adventure, beauty and quiet places to reflect and relax. I also knew I wanted to go on a real trip – not just a few day vacation – I was talking weeks, months.

On the short list, I thought South America – Northern Europe – Southeast Asia. Safety, ease of travel and cost were important to me. After pouring over travel blogs and trip itineraries, I decided SE Asia was for me! I liked how simple it seems to be to travel between countries, the diverse cultures and topographies and the reported level of safety for female travelers (since I’ll be spending a portion of my trip alone).

But lucky for me, I’ve got two best friends who wanderlust almost as much as I do!

The three of us will spend 13 days exploring Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia. On our itinerary, you’ll find Bangkok, Krabi, the Phi Phi Islands, Kuala Lumpur and Bali.

The last two weeks of my trip will be solo in Bali, Singapore, Chiang Mai and back to Bangkok before I hop a plane back to San Francisco.

I am traveling super light and will only have my trusty backpack, which hasn’t seen the light of day since study abroad! I’ll be doing a separate post closer to my travel date to share what I’m taking with me and how I’m managing to fit it all in! I hope y’all are ready for lots of amazing pics with me in the same sundress, over and over and over 🙂

Month's worth of luggage!

Month’s worth of luggage!

4 thoughts on “Details, details!!

  1. Pingback: And Costa Rica? | oh, to have the world on a string

  2. Pingback: 60+ Days in a 40L Pack! | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

