Time for an Adventure!

I’m finally ready to share some big news. HUGE news. Game-changing news.

After living and working in the Washington, DC area my entire life, I am packing up all my things and getting the heck outta dodge! I’ve got a crazy adventure coming up and I don’t know how to share it, except to just say it.

I’m taking a leave of absence from work (thank you thank you thank you dear employer for being so supportive).

I’m traveling to Southeast Asia for 27 days.

I’m vacationing in San Francisco for 9 days.

I’m spending the entire month of June in Costa Rica.

I’m moving to Chicago in July.

I leave for this mad adventure in 33 days.

Can't wait to call this home.

Can’t wait to call this home.

My apartment is in a state of disarray, as I get ready to move out at the end of this week. I’m moving out well in advance of my travels to save some cash and get my ducks in a row before I leave. I’ve been hustling to sell all of my furniture and donate a TON of stuff to A-SPAN and goodwill. I’m taking only a subset of my belongings with me when I leave… probably about a tenth of what I had will ultimately make it to Chicago, so there is some major purging going on around here!

All that's making the cut!

All that’s making the cut!

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing a lot more information about my trips – where I’m going, what I’m doing, who I’ll be with, and the like. It is absolutely impossible to share all of that in one post – I’ve been planning this behind the scenes for months!

But I’ll leave you today with a little bit of why. For years, I’ve been dreaming about living in a new city, meeting new people, exploring an area away from where I grew up. I’ve known for a long time Chicago was where I wanted to go – at least for my first city, perhaps not forever. The last few times I’ve visited, I’ve totally scoped out the city to see if I really, really wanted to move there.

Now’s the time.

When I’m in Chicago, I smile more. And I’m all about capitalizing on my smile time.

I am incredibly grateful and appreciative to my employer, who is partnering with me to transition to our Chicago office this summer. It is a blessing to have the support and stability of keeping my job amongst all of the other chaos!

Between now and when I leave for Thailand, I am moving home to my mom’s for a few weeks, helping her through a surgery, running a work trip in Jamaica for 7 days and taking the GRE. Chaos.

Here’s the next 4 months of my life. Details coming!

My life in books.

My life in books.

I hope you’ll all follow me along this journey! Facebook Twitter Instagram and you can follow my blog by email – click the “Follow” button on the right tool bar!

8 thoughts on “Time for an Adventure!

  1. SO EXCITING! I’ve been MIA from the blog world for a while, but I’ve been keeping up on your posts in my email 🙂 Your upcoming travels sound amazing and life-changing for sure. Best of luck, and hope your mom’s surgery goes well. Can’t wait to hear about the whole experience!

  2. Pingback: And Costa Rica? | oh, to have the world on a string

  3. Pingback: 60+ Days in a 40L Pack! | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

