A Gluten-free Disney Experience

Today DC is about 40 degrees colder than it was last Monday when I left Orlando! Bah, I hope the little groundhog was right and spring gets here soon! I’d like to be back here…

Disney's Yacht Club

Disney’s Yacht Club

Considering the Disney Princess half marathon was only about 5 hours of my 5 day trip to Disney, I have a lot more to recap! This was the third time I’ve been to Disney (each time as an adult!) and was certainly the most low key.

Nothing says Disney like themed ears!

Nothing says Disney like themed ears!

My friend Emily was attending a conference Wednesday through Friday (as a speaker!!), so we combined our two trips and stayed at the Yacht Club resort through Monday morning. It was a fantastic 5 days filled with pool time, park adventures, sleeping in, good meals and a few fun drinks along the way.

Cool clouds make the Yacht Club even more stately

Cool clouds make the Yacht Club even more stately

The Yacht Club is set on a lake across from the Boardwalk and within walking distance to Epcot. You really couldn’t beat the location! Our room was super comfortable and had a great view of the mini-marina, light house and even Epcot’s nightly firework show.

Mini-everything at Disney!

Mini-everything at Disney!

We spent one day at the parks – choosing Epcot to wander around. We stopped along the countries for performances, snacks, a few rides and cool sites. It’s so cool (and weird?) how Disney can make such realistic miniatures of just about anything! While we didn’t partake in the bar crawl around the world, I think that would be a really fun way to spend an afternoon too! I’d need someone to split all my drinks with me for sure.

Epcot by night.

Epcot by night.

We hit up a bunch of the attractions and rides in Future World, particularly enjoying Soarin’, the Spaceship to the Future and the aquarium in the Seas exhibit. Epcot was really educational and it was cool to see the little kids learning something while they were having fun/having massive meltdowns along the way.

Drummers in Japan

Drummers in Japan

Balancing Act in Italy!

Balancing Act in Italy!

The food at the Yacht club and around Disney did not disappoint! As you may have gathered from previous posts, I’ve electively removed or reduced gluten, dairy and soy from my diet earlier this year. I’ve certainly made exceptions – see post-race Mickey Mouse waffles and the occasional beer – but try to limit those to 10% or less of my overall eats.

Worth the gluten!!

Worth the gluten!!

I was super surprised to see how easy it was to eat gluten, dairy and soy-free while at Disney. I packed a bunch of lara bars and stocked up on fresh fruit to make sure I had breakfast or snacks handy. Disney menu items included oats with banana, raisins and honey for breakfast, corn chips and guacamole for a snack, hibachi-style chicken and shrimp prepared sans-soy sauce and noodles for dinner, and a chicken breast sandwich sans-bun with avocado, tomato, arugula and goat cheese for a poolside lunch. Even my post-race snack box was filled with gluten-free goodies!

Friday happened to be National Margarita Day!

Friday happened to be National Margarita Day!

The options were plentiful and really tasty! I only broke my diet restrictions by choice and never because Disney’s options were limited. The service staff were always helpful and often asked about food allergies before I even had a chance to mention my preferences. I guess it goes to show just how many folks around the world have allergies or restrictions! Props to Disney for being so proactive!!

*Disclaimer: I have gluten sensitivities, not an intolerance, so what works for me may not be appropriate for someone with Celiac or a more pronounced sensitivity.

Much needed post-race snacks

Much needed post-race snacks

All-in-all it was a great vaca, nice to get away from the city and into the warm sunshine for a few days! They do call it the most magical place on earth for a reason! 🙂

Bye-bye Panda friends...until we meet again!

Bye-bye Panda friends…until we meet again!

2 thoughts on “A Gluten-free Disney Experience

  1. Great post! I have been limiting gluten and dairy because I think I’m sensitive to it after having IBS and am going to Disney in May so I’m glad to hear you could work around it. I’m totally having those Mickey waffles though 🙂

Leave a Reply

