Highs and Lows

This week sure has seen its highs and lows, and it is only Wednesday!!

Highs and Lows

On Monday, the day had finally come for me to sit for my PMP (project management professional) exam. It was the first standardized test I’ve taken since my SAT, and holy moly, it was draining. 200 questions, lots of math, recalling memorized processes and applying project management principles to scenarios. I was about cross eyed at the end!

You get 4 hours to complete the exam and I actually used 3 of those…which is pretty incredible for me, since I am a speed demon when it comes to tests. I spent the entire 3rd hour reviewing questions I’d marked to take another look at – that’s the worst when you start second guessing yourself!!

When I hit submit, I was probably 80% confident in my score, but there was a little doubt creeping in. Especially since they make you click through a survey on the testing site and take like 2 minutes of “thinking time” to generate the results. Painful! After sitting with my fingers and toes crossed, the Congratulations! popped up on the screen and I sighed a huge sigh of relief.

PMP
Now I get 3 fancy letters after my name šŸ™‚

LinkedIn
While Monday was stressful enough for one week, Tuesday saw a bit of a low. After about 4 weeks of increasing knee pain, I finally went to the doctor. I mentioned a couple weeks ago that I’d self diagnosed with an IT band issue, took a week off and did some pretty great stretches. That worked for a couple days, but the minute I was back to activity, the pain returned – and maybe even a little worse.

The discomfort lies in my kneecap, hurts to squat or lunge, seems to travel into my thigh and hip and has caused a few sleepless nights. So to the orthopedic I went.

Waiting for the doc with my pasty chicken legs!

Waiting for the doc with my pasty chicken legs!

Dr. Pettrone (unfortunately, no, he didn’t serve up his diagnosis with a shot of tequila), was incredibly nice, thorough and actually spent about 15 minutes with me. I feel like these days, that’s a quality visit! After an X-ray, an exam and performing lunges and squats, I was diagnosed. With patellofemoral pain syndrome. Runner’s knee.

You know what I say? LAME! What a lame diagnosis.

But I also say, thank goodness it isn’t a bone or ligament issue, because for a minute there I’d convinced myself I had a piece of bone floating around in my knee from an old football injury (yes, I do really like saying that).

I’ve never really had an injury that precluded me from doing what I wanted to do. The disappointment I felt knowing I had to cut back, change my ways and slow down was more than I thought it would be. Here I was practically in tears on the way home. I don’t want to know what it would have been like if I’d had to go under the knife! If you’ve ever had a serious injury, I now know a fraction of what it feels like. I’ll never brush off someone’s disappointment to an injury again!

After I got my diagnosis and he showed me a PT routine, the doc didn’t love my next question – “I have a half marathon in 3 weeks – I can still run it right??”

PT

Right now, the answer is we’ll see. I’m going to follow doctor’s orders and wear my super fashionable compression sleeve, ice it twice a day, pop a few aleve and take it light on the running and see how the next few weeks go. I think he’d be happy – I wore the brace last night during yoga and 3 miles on the elliptical! Gotta keep those February miles accumulating!

Sleeve

Super cute.

This Disney princess will at least walk across that finish line šŸ™‚

P.S. This may be the only time in my life I wear an extra small!

:)

šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Highs and Lows

  1. Congrats on passing your test! Good luck with your knee-hopefully it will better with some rest! One of my bigger fears is having an injury that prevents me from being active, so I can understand your worries!

  2. Pingback: Disney Princess Half Marathon – Recap | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

