Friday Fitness (and food) Update!

Happy Friday y’all! I am so excited for the weekend, as I get to spend some time with my family! I come from a pretty small clan, but we’ll all be together for a bit of a reunion Saturday night. Expect g-pa pics Monday morning 🙂

He's my favorite. Ever.

He’s my favorite. Ever.

This week has been interesting from a fitness front. I’ve been struggling with some knee pain since the beginning of January. Essentially, I was having a weird “warm” feeling on the outside of my left knee – it didn’t hurt, per se, but I could feel it. It actually felt perfectly fine when I was running, but afterwards it would feel “off”. I started icing it after my workouts and stretching a bit more. Over the course of a week or so, the “warm” feeling became more of a real pain and I could feel tightness all the way up my thigh. I did a little Dr. Google research and decided it was my IT band giving me the trouble.

Icing action.

Icing action.

So, after 3 weeks of continued increase in pain, I decided to take a week off of running completely. The last I ran was 1 mile on Sunday. I really hope this coming Sunday when I go out for a run, the pain has lessened and a little break was all it needed. I am 4 weeks out from the half marathon at Disney, so really need to get those long training runs in!

While my running shoes have been taking a breather, I’ve still kept up with my strength training and yoga. To help with the ITBS, I found a fantastic 5 minute yoga routine to stretch out my hips and glutes. This is a keeper and one I’ll be coming back to time and time again. Not only has it helped with my leg, but just in general, my hip flexibility is at an all time high! Yoga Tuesday night saw my best lizard and pigeon poses yet!

A little cow face pose action

A little cow face pose action

I’ve kept up with Best Body Bootcamp and am continuing to love the workouts! Every phase is different and challenging in new ways! Tonight, I’m doing a a circuit of endurance reps, where you do as many reps as you can of one exercise, move on to the second, and then keep repeating that pattern until you hit 100 reps of each exercise. I know after 100 lunges, squats, push ups, rows and a few other moves, my body will be crying! Goodness knows I wouldn’t push myself this hard without bootcamp – I can’t say enough great things about the experience!

Dietwise, I’ve just wrapped up my 3 weeks of allergen-free eating! 21 days of no gluten, dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts or sugar. It actually flew by and was overall pretty easy. I’ve been cooking more again, which has been nice after a few month hiatus, and have explored new-to-me food options like rice milk, coconut milk “yogurt”, brown rice tortillas and hemp protein. From a results perspective, I dropped about 3 pounds in the first week and a half and holding steady at 135. It’s a little crazy to think I weigh less now than I did in high school! The combination of the diet and exercise has helped my muscles start to peek out too 🙂

More on the dietary changes later, as I start to add back in some of the allergen foods to see what my reaction looks like.  This week I added back eggs – which I missed so much! The gooey deliciousness of a runny, sunny side up egg just hits the spot. I am definitely only buying cage free eggs now as well… I only sometimes did before, but after reading this article, I’ll never go back to eggs from hens in a cage.

Today's breakfast!

Today’s breakfast!

Anyway, quite a ramble. Hope you have a fantastic weekend!

3 thoughts on “Friday Fitness (and food) Update!

  1. Mary! I have had to stop running because of my right IT band. It’s miserable! I went to the physical therapists and will get you the stretches and exercises they gave me to do.

  2. Pingback: Highs and Lows | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

