My first go at race planning!

I am just too excited about this one! At each one of the races I’ve run, I always wonder who’s behind the scenes organizing the festivities, the volunteers, the banana supply and the swag. I think about how early they must have been up to get everything set and ready for a 7:30am start. And, believe it or not, I’m always a little bit jealous. Race directing is a planning girl’s dream!

This spring I get to take one little (or maybe kinda huge) step towards one day directing a race of my own. With the Junior League of Northern Virginia, I am organizing a community 5k race event in April to support of mission of helping children achieve their full potential as we work to remove barriers to academic success, promote a love of learning and foster self-esteem.

Strides for Success

Being a part of the race planning committee has really opened my eyes to all of the details that go in to putting on a large scale event – obtaining the race permits, liaising with local law enforcement, organizing volunteer schedules, planning for the day of the event logistics and oh yeah, marketing and promoting the event so we have folks to run!

My role on the committee is community outreach. This means I am creating partnerships with other nonprofits, local schools and other community groups to not only ask for their participation in the event, but to share and promote our common causes to like minded folks. This matches up nicely to my volunteer work with Girls on the Run as well!

I am also working closely with the chair of sponsorships to help elicit monetary and in kind donations from corporations and local businesses to support the cost of the race. I’ve found out through this experience that I’m pretty good at asking people for money 🙂

One of the great things about Junior League is that it provides opportunities to grow and develop in areas you might not have exposure to in your professional role. I’ve learned so much from this experience and there is still so much left to do!

I’m super excited about it and I hope you are too! If you are in the DC area, please consider registering for the 8th Annual Strides for Success 5k Race and 1K Fun Run, on Sunday April 13th at 8:30 a.m at the Fairfax Corner shopping center, in Fairfax, VA.

If you are looking for a fun 5k and an opportunity to engage with the community, sign up today!! Invite friends and family to join in too – there is the 5k race (any pace!), a 1k run/walk for families, a 100 meter dash for kids under 5 and prizes for age group categories (including fastest stroller!). After the race, enjoy the finisher’s festival with yoga, face painting and other fun activities.

http://stridesforsuccess.eventbrite.com/

Where do the profits go from this race?
$25 = 10 character building programs for children in area homeless shelters
$50 = 1 case of diapers to alleviate diaper need in our community
$100 = 1 Kids in the Kitchen Event for local events
$250 = 25 backpacks filled with school supplies for children in need
$500 = 50 back to school health physicals and immunizations for uninsured children

4 thoughts on “My first go at race planning!

Leave a Reply

