Finding Flow

You know that feeling when you watch a video, read a quote or stumble across an article that just speaks to you? One that you know immediately you’ll come back to time and time again for reassurance, motivation or even just a smile? A few months ago, I came across a video that has positively influenced my perspective, my professional role and my relationships. So, obviously I wanted to share it with you all!

The Theory of Flow, Vishen Lakhiani

Vishen Lakhiani, CEO of Mind Valley, speaks to creating an individualized state of ultimate creativity and productivity and then how to extend those practices with a team or company culture. He talks about a culture of individuals who feel the “need to grow…need to contribute” and how to foster an environment that allows them to do so. His tenants of daily gratitude, awesomeness, meditation, learning and fun are in total alignment with how I strive to live and how I want to run my own business in the future.

Vishen believes allowing for and cultivating a state of flow makes room for individuals to be their best creative self. To find flow, you have to find a balance of being fully happy and satisfied with your present state and have positive dreams for the future. You have to let go of the past, preconceived notions of how things “should be” today, or any other hang ups that are leaving you less than content in the present moment.

Finding flow is a daily exercise and not an easy one. This idea of balance speaks so closely to my own core values of balance and discovery. I love this quote by Maya Angelo:

I’ve shared this video with different groups around my professional organization – the leadership team I manage, our sales leaders, our customer service team. The ideas are spreading like wildfire and a grassroots effort to shift our corporate culture is beginning to grow. I hope by sharing this link and my own personal story of connection I can help my friends, colleagues or even you, find more engagement, more meaning or more value in your day.

I’d challenge you to watch the 40 minute video to see what speaks to you. How can you add more flow and awesomeness into your life?

Leave a Reply

