Half Marathon Training Plan

I’m so geared up to run the Disney Princess half marathon on February 24th, 2013!! Not only do I get a vacation at Disney with a great friend, but I get to dress in a tutu and tiara and run through Magic Kingdom. Wahoo!!!

I love early spring races, since they keep me training and running through the holidays and the winter season. In addition to Best Body Bootcamp Round 3 (only 3 more weeks, I can’t believe it!) and starting Round 4 in January (sign ups should be occurring in the next few weeks – stay tuned to join me in the next round!), I will be starting my half marathon training next week.

Right now, I comfortably run about 4-5 miles a couple of times a week. The plan I’ve chosen and altered will have me running at least 4 days a week and strength training 3 days a week. I really want to continue my progress with the bootcamp, so am happy to dedicate two full days to a strength routine and one full day of rest.

What I love about running is that it is completely customizable to your fitness level, the amount of time you are able to dedicate each week and where you are starting from. I am a recreational runner and have made a training plan I know I can stick to and develop from. It’s important for me to be well-rounded, so my plan includes a lot of different components:

  • 1 day of building a base (4-5 miles)
  • 1 day of fast (adding a few middle miles at race pace – about 1 minute per mile faster than my building pace)
  • 1 long run
  • 1 easy run (to get the long run kinks out)
  • 3 days strength training
  • and, arguably the most important – 1 FULL day of REST. Amen, sister.

I’ve included my plan below. Feel free to steal ideas and make it your own!

*WU – Warm Up; CD – Cool Down

11 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Plan

  1. How fun! I really want to run a Disney race one of these days, mostly so I can dress up as a princess! Good luck with your training plan (rest days are the best!).

  2. Pingback: No Spend November – Recap | oh, to have the world on a string

  3. Pingback: Race Costumes – Jingle All the Way 8k Recap | oh, to have the world on a string

  4. Pingback: Ready to Chuck my Training Plan | oh, to have the world on a string

  5. Pingback: 2012 Travel: A Year in Review | oh, to have the world on a string

  6. Pingback: Fitness Friday Update! | oh, to have the world on a string

  7. Pingback: Friday Fitness (and food) Update! | oh, to have the world on a string

  8. Pingback: Fitness February Challenge! | oh, to have the world on a string

  9. Pingback: February Fitness Challenge! | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

