8th Annual Soup Party

The second Sunday of November is my favorite day of the year. I get to spend the day with the people I love the most, hosting a party for a community that has embraced my grandparents and given them a loving place to live for the last 43 years.

My main man

For the last 8 years, my grandparents have hosted a neighborhood “soup party” with 25 or so of their closest neighborhood friends. My grandma and grandpa prepare for this day throughout the year, as they cook up five different homemade soups and lots of treats to share.

Homemade goodness

So much care goes into the day. These aren’t cans of Campbell coming out of the pantry. My grandpa literally cuts his own noodles for the chicken noodle soup. There’s my favorite, creamy mushroom, ham & bean, cheesy potato and my aunt makes a vegetable beef.  There doesn’t tend to be much change year-to-year, because these are all too dang good to take out of rotation.

Sneaking some soup mid-party

My grandma sets the entire first floor of their home with seating enough for 25+. Cookies are baked and sandwiches are prepared. Glassware comes out of hiding and the good china is set.

The good china with folding chairs 🙂

My grandparents throw one hell of a party. They are 92 and 86 years old. It is amazing.

The G-pa

Then, the rest of us show up to play bartender, and soup ladle-er, sandwich distributor and cookie passer. It is a family effort and we all pitch in. The day means so much to my grandparents and to their community – it is awesome to be a part of it all.

Skinny arm in the kitchen

And then we do a post-party photo shoot…which is bound to tell you something about my family. Love them 🙂 Soup Party for me is better than Christmas. It is my favorite holiday of the year.

Us girls

3 Generations

Love the brick and shutters

Too funny not to post!

11 thoughts on “8th Annual Soup Party

  1. This looks like so much fun! Family traditions are the absolute best. Also, I cannot think of anything that would indicate living an awesome life than being able to cook and entertain this well into my 90s (?!!). I can only hope I’ll get to do the same. Amazing!

  2. Pingback: Counting my Blessings | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

