Wake Up Call

Would you believe it if I told you 3 of my 5 workouts this week occurred before 730am? Straight up craziness around here!!

You might remember I’m not exactly a morning person. In fact, I’ve been told I’m near scary in the morning. My freshman year roommate in college once said she would actually wait until after I got back from my morning class to chat. It takes me THAT long to become human!

As anticipated, with last weekend’s time change and subsequent earlier sunrise, Monday morning was surprisingly easy to get out of bed. Daylight peeking through my windows makes such a difference!

Overall, I’ve had a super productive exercise week. I have more or less followed the best body boot camp program to a tee, with 3 strength sessions, some cardio intervals, a longer run and a yoga class (free on election day!).

It all kicked off with Monday’s morning wake up call, when I managed to stretch and meditate (yep, still going!), complete a superset workout from BBB and make it to the gym for a fast interval treadmill workout. All before 730am. Strictly unheard of around here…times are a changin’!

Two things. Waking up early was worth it. And, running on a treadmill for the first time in over a year actually wasn’t as torturous as I’d imagined it would be.

I’ll give Tina’s interval program credit for that.

The cardio interval consisted of super quick 30 second segments, moving between a challenging pace, a sprint, and a moderate recovery for about 10 minutes total. Combining that with a 5 minute warm up and additional cool down, this 20 minute interval session was incredibly efficient. Perfect for a Monday morning!

When I’ve done intervals before, I’ve done longer chunks, but rotated a challenging run pace with a walk. For this one, I cranked it out with a challenging run at 7.0, a sprint at 7.8 and the moderate recovery at 6.0. I was really working the whole time and stepped off the treadmill after 20 minutes a sweaty, red-faced mess.

I definitely won’t be relying on the ‘mill for “real runs”, but it was nice to control the speed and see all of the details for this short workout. It is one I will most definitely be keeping in rotation.

Luckily, this weekend is calling for sun and 60 degree weather. I’m feeling a few steady pace long(er) runs in my future. Gotta keep adding steps to that 1000 mile goal. At this rate, I’ll be getting my pedicure right in time for new years 🙂

3 thoughts on “Wake Up Call

  1. I used to hate waking up in the morning! Now, I actually kind of enjoy it. Since I started my diet, my body has changed a lot and I am sooo much happier with my life. I am trying to be more social since I am more comfortable with my image, it’s amazing what exercise can do for you 🙂 Also, I followed you on Twitter!

  2. I never used to be a morning person, now I love it. I woke out at 5:30 many mornings 🙂 It is so nice to be done and not have to worry about the day getting crazy and not getting the workout done.

Leave a Reply

