Best Body Bootcamp – week 1

Bootcamp has definitely kicked by booty this week! And I’m only about 2/3rds of the way through!

Because of my race last Sunday and the upcoming Marine Corp 10k this coming Sunday, I’ve been doing a bit of a modified plan to get started.  Each week consists of 3 strength workouts, 3 cardio interval workouts, 2 steady cardio sessions and 2 daily goals. To give my legs some much needed rest between races, I’ve skipped the cardio interval workouts and focused on the rest. Best decision ever, as my legs are crazy sore from just the weights!

One of the main reasons I signed up for this was to finally focus on strength training! I am a weakling when it comes to lifting weights and can only eek out a couple modified pushups at a time. The first two strength workouts really got my muscles burning and my heart rate up!  The hardest move (for me) was the surrender squat. Seriously, I wanted to surrender after 48 of these bad boys!

Other than the sweaty results, I’ve also really enjoyed completing my daily goals. For each week, you commit to two daily goals and aim to complete them 5 of the 7 days. For week 1, I chose to focus on stretching and centering myself via meditation. Each morning, I’ve spent 10 minutes getting the kinks out and then 10 minutes focusing on my breath and trying to get the chatter of thoughts out of my head. It will definitely take WAY more than five 10 minute sessions to get to that point! But I’m better than where I started!

I’ve found that waking up a half hour earlier has added so much more to my day! I’ve been more energetic (possibly from the extra cup of tea I drink while stretching), been more positive, and have even (finally) been sleeping better after weeks of dealing with 4am wake ups.

There is something to slowing down. I’ve been reading a lot on the subject lately too, as I am on a constant search for thoughts and tools to help me continue to grow and develop. If you want to check out what I’ve been pondering, here are a few blogs and articles:

You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.

Buddha

Have a healthy, happy weekend!

5 thoughts on “Best Body Bootcamp – week 1

  1. Love your goal on taking some time to center yourself in the morning. I get up early every morning for time to journal and pray and it makes a world of difference. Days when I choose to “sleep in” instead always end up leaving me LESS energized feeling because I don’t get that centered calm before the day begins that I do iwth the prayer and journaling. Keep up the great work!

  2. Wooo, seems like you are doing great at bootcamp! I was so weak when I first started working out. I could barely lift 10lb dumbbells because I was like who does exercises with theses? They weigh my arms down and now I’m up to 25lb weights.

  3. Pingback: Wake Up Call | oh, to have the world on a string

  4. Pingback: Squat…and then squat some more! | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

