Jamaica Dreamin’

Jamaica was a dream, from the moment we landed in Montego Bay to our reluctant farewell a mere 48 hours later. As mentioned in my prior post, I was visiting Jamaica on a site visit to Half Moon Resort. This type of trip usually comes with pretty significant perks, including private pick-up at the airport by our destination management company. We were quickly taken past the porters and taxi drivers to a posh black sedan and carted off to the site location.

Half Moon Resort is only 10 minutes driving from the airport, which is a welcome change from some of the other resorts I have visited in the Caribbean and Central America. Before I even knew it, we were in the stately lobby of Half Moon Resort, welcome drink and room key in hand.

Entrance to Half Moon

August is low season in the Caribbean, so at times it seemed we had the whole place to ourselves. The staff kept us company and provided exemplary service. I’ve never met more friendly and relatable folks. There truly is a different vibe on this island!

Sunset Beach – Half Moon

Our first afternoon was spent touring the resort and I made sure to see every last detail. There are many different accommodation, dining and recreational options on property, so there were lots of stops and pauses to take photos with my trusty iPhone.

Lonely little pool raft

We had the opportunity to dine our first evening at Seagrape Terrace, romantically lit with white lights around the trees and the sound of the ocean waves coming ashore a mere 10 feet from our table. We were hosted by our sales representative to discuss the event we were planning, but also had a chance over dessert to get to know him a bit better as well. I accidently asked to see a picture of his dog and not his child! Oops! 🙂

Night lights

Day two began with a real treat. After a breakfast assortment from the buffet, we made our way to the dolphin cove to swim and play with the dolphin duo of Toni and Reggae. I’ll give you a pic, but this one really deserves its own post (read: it’ll be next!).

HAHA I love these pics!

The afternoon was spent with our destination management representative, discussing all of the different activities and events we may consider hosting off the resort. Jennifer and Bernard took us around Montego Bay, where we toured Margaritaville, did a little tourist shopping, and stopped at the Tortuga Rum Cake factory and ice creamery. Um, yum!

Adult playground in the sea!

I then had the opportunity to meet with the entire food and beverage team (chef, restaurant manager, catering manager, and event manager) to nail down all of the details of the event I am planning for next April. It was the most organized and engaged staff meeting I’ve had as a part of a resort planning trip. Half Moon is truly a professional organization!

Tuesday night ended with a red stripe beer and dinner on resort at a pub called Robbie’s Kitchen. I didn’t manage to take any food pics, because the lighting was always a bit tough.  One thing about these resorts is they are always so dark once the sun goes down! I think I might pack a flashlight the next time around!

Red Stripe Paradise

Day three (and last day :(), we stopped by the onsite equestrian center to say hello to the 25 horseys on site and discuss activity options for our guests. Phoenix was particularly interested in becoming my friend! Half Moon offers a ride, where you ride the horse through the resort, onto the beach, and then literally swim with the horse into the water…like seriously hanging on to the horse’s mane as they swim in 15 feet deep surf. I am so doing this in April!!

He’s a beaut

I can’t wait to go back – because I know this will be a successful event, but also because by the end of the 48 hours I already felt like Half Moon could be a home away from home. Seems I collect those 🙂

See you in April!

*While the providers mentioned in this post did accommodate my stay as a part of a business agreement, I am no way affiliated with these providers and my statements are of personal opinion only*

5 thoughts on “Jamaica Dreamin’

  1. Pingback: I Kissed a … Dolphin | oh, to have the world on a string

  2. Pingback: Fitting in Fitness | oh, to have the world on a string

  3. Pingback: Fitting in Fitness | oh, to have the world on a string

  4. Pingback: 2012 Travel: A Year in Review | oh, to have the world on a string

  5. Pingback: Jamaica, Here I Come! | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

