Girls on the Run DC 5k – Recap

Earlier this year, I became involved with a non-profit organization that really matched perfectly with my goals and interests – Girls on the Run. Volunteering with GOTR combines my love of running with teaching and there’s even some added event planning thrown in there too. Seriously, what more could I ask for! (for those of you that don’t know, I’m a learning and events manager for a training organization). Oh, and, I run a little too.

The GOTR DC chapter supports over 880 girls, aged 8-12, in  teams at 79 different schools around the district. They have over 200 coaches for these teams and hundreds more volunteers that allow the program to go on. I was so happy to be involved and have the chance to help the program succeed and to help one little girl find success in crossing the finish line!

Souvi’s from the race day!

Last week, I spent an evening with about 20 other volunteers stuffing race packets for the end-of-season 5k race. Into the drawstring bags went some typical race stuff – coupons, flyers, safety pins, and then some special stuff for the girls – a nutrition journal, a deck of playing cards with bone health trivia and their race bibs – all printed with #1. I also met a bunch of awesome running ladies and swapped stories about training, races and nerves we shared for the 5k race on Sunday.

GOTR Packets – stuffed and ready to be picket up!

Saturday, I spent a couple more hours supporting the race down at the Pacer’s Logan Circle handing out race packets to community runners – folks who signed up to run the race with one of the GOTR members, or who just wanted to support the cause and have a little racing fun on a Sunday morning.  All in all, we had over 2,000 runners at the 5k – the largest DC event to date!

Pretty morning at Anacostia Park

Race day came early on Sunday with a 7am kickoff volunteering to help set up for the day. The race was held at Anacostia Park, a gorgeous facility running along the Anacostia River – it had trails, grassy areas, basketball courts and a skating pavilion. Lots of staging areas for our race!

Getting ready for the Race!

We set up team meeting areas, first aid tents, food and water stations and lots of fun activities for the girls – a hair station to get your hair sprayed funky colors, a temporary tattoo tent and a face painting table.

This is the line for the face painting!!

I managed to pull double duty and paint a few faces while I was at it – butterflies, hearts, flowers, GOTR and even a poisonous snake as requested by a little brother of a GOTR member (complete with a rattle tail!).

They loved my art work!

Once I’d maxed out my artistic abilities, I made my way over to my team assignment – I transitioned from volunteer to Running Buddy! And I was SO excited! I was paired with St. Thomas More team and met my GOTR runner, Asia. As Asia’s running buddy, I was along for the 5k ride to encourage her, give her motivation and watch her reach her goal of finishing the 5k strong! It was a bit of a tumultuous 5k – she reacted to it the same way I do …

mile 1) I’m fast and excited!

mile 1.5) OMG this is only halfway!

mile 2) seriously, I’m ready to stop now!

mile 2.5) I see the finish line! EAT MY DUST RUNNERS!

mile 3.1) that was the best race ever!

By the end, we were best friends… but that middle mile was a little rough 🙂

Asia and her super proud mom (and running buddy!!)

It is an amazing organization and a fantastic way to spend my time – supporting the things I love and value. I can’t wait for the fall season!

A little flair on the course!

Also, my pictures really don’t do the event justice – so check out the pro’s that captured the day:

http://www.emilyweissphotography.com/blog/2012/06/girls-on-the-rundc-5k-june-2012-at-anacostia-park/

http://www.simple-expressionsphotography.com/girls-on-the-run-dc-5k-june-2012/

One thought on “Girls on the Run DC 5k – Recap

  1. Pingback: GOTR Team Adelaide | oh, to have the world on a string

Leave a Reply

