Shrimp and Avocado Omelette

Whelp it’s Wednesday! You might think this would be a bad day to spend 30+ minutes in the kitchen making and cleaning up a big breakfast – but I disagree! Wednesday’s can kind of suck. So I prolong the departure from my house by whisking eggs, sipping tea and actually sitting down for breakfast. 🙂

On today’s menu is something I’ve never tried before – shrimp for breakfast! I had thawed a bowl of frozen, fully cooked shrimp and was on a deadline to eat them. I have a bunch of lunch and evening plans this week, so if I didn’t cook those puppies up soon, I’d be facing a seafood-induced illness when I got around to them on Friday!

Drool-worthy!

Enter a southern cooking staple – shrimp and eggs. Who knew! The omelette was delicious and had quite a mix of flavors. I even managed to throw in some fresh cilantro from the new window garden! Double win!

Fresh Cilantro!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Serves one (5 more lonely weeks of breakfast for 1!)

1 whole egg

1 egg white

1 cup cooked shrimp, chopped

1/5 avocado

1 cup spinach

a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese

Love the extra whites for ++ protein and — fat

Whisk together your egg and whites and pour into a buttered skillet.

Firming up!

Allow the eggs to firm up, lifting an edge and tilting the pan so the liquid runs onto the pan. Once it is nearly cooked through, add your shrimp, spinach and cheese in one half of the egg.

Little shrimps – ready to chop and heat up

Side note – I like my food hot, so I tossed the shrimp and spinach together in the pan before I added them to the omelette. I did this by quickly transferring the egg to a plate and using the same pan, but you could use another skillet if you wish. I’m a 1 pan kind of girl.

Now that your fillings are resting nicely over half of the eggs, sprinkle with cheese and gently fold the other half over the fillings.

Transfer to a plate, garnish with a slice of avocado and fresh cilantro. If I’d had a tomato, it would have been extra delish. Like pico de gallo!

I already chowed down the first half!

Yummmm yum! And wouldn’t you know, while it took me  twice as long to cook and eat, it has about 100 calories less than my typical smoothies! This breakfast clocked in around 275 calories, 21 grams of fat, 18 carbs and 20 grams of protein. Well worth the few minutes of clean up!

Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

