How much protein is too much?

Do you count calories or track your daily nutrition consumption? Every so often I get on a kick about food journaling, but I rarely take it to the level of nutritional content. Just this week, I started totaling the nutrition information on my regular diet to get a sense of where I’m doing well and where I need some help. I’m not trying to lose weight, but instead, eat more strategically to make sure I am getting enough of what I need and cutting back on what I don’t.

If you’ve never done it, try it just for a day or two – it is truly enlightening!

The stats I was most concerned about were protein and sugar – not calories. I figure I typically eat around 1,800-2,200 calories a day and base that all on how I’m feeling and how active I am – nothing too scientific – I just eat when I”m hungry.

But, I have some issues with what you might call hypoglycemia (yes, you can call me Dr. WebMD). If I don’t eat right, I get nauseas, clammy, weak and feel all around awful until I get my blood sugar stabilized. It happens more when I’m training or at a low body weight. It kind of stinks, since when I’m skinny and working out, I want to feel my best – not like I’m going to pass out!

So, the first piece of crazy news is that I am eating A LOT of protein! I used to be a vegetarian and have always struggled to have enough protein in my diet…I had NO IDEA I was eating over 100 g’s per day!

Yesterday I clocked 138 grams and the day before 123 grams. The sources were whey protein, greek yogurt, ezekiel bread, tuna, ak mak crackers, lara bars, skim milk and salmon — all good choices right?

It begs the question, how much protein does a person really need?

According to FitSugar, I should be eating between 80-110 grams of protein per day. I’m a little on the high side this week – I’m inclined to think that is an abnormality (I don’t usually eat tuna for lunch and salmon for dinner), but only time will tell.

Maybe I need a little less of this stuff — but I love it sooo!

Vanilla Ice Cream – yummmmmm

Do you track your food/nutritional intake? Any good pointers on what to focus on?

Have a great Friday!

One thought on “How much protein is too much?

  1. I think this is among the most significant info for me. And iam glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few geienalthrngs, The website style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D.Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

