When Scotch Tape Doesn’t Cut It Anymore

I’ve gotten a little craft-happy these last few weekends! One necessary project included upgrading from scotch tape to mod podge. That’s right, I’m decoupaging up in here!

I have had two hand-me-down shelves in my bedroom for about 3 years. When I first received the shelves, they were a light colored wood and very “country living” with a heart cut out on the bottom part of the shelf. Neither color nor shape really fit my style.

3 years back, I was only a half-crafter. Insert extra white paint and scotch tape. When I moved into my apartment, the owner had left a can of white paint in the closet. I broke that right open and gave the light colored wood a face lift. My next and only display of effort, was managing to pick up a sheet of scrap-booking paper, cut it out in the shape of the shelf and tape it right over the heart. That was as crafty as I got. If I remember correctly, I was pretty darn proud.

Well, three years later, I’ve had to replace that scotch tape a few times. Every now and again, I’d walk into my bedroom and the scrap-booking paper would be hanging by a thread or would have managed an escape and I’d find it poking out from under a piece of furniture.

Escape artist, no more! Insert Mod Podge.

Step 1: Gather your supplies – shelf, scrapbook paper, sponge or paint brush, mod podge.

Step 2: After you have cleaned, sanded and painted your shelf (as necessary), brush on a layer of mod podge to the area you wish to cover. Throughly coat the wood.

Step 3 & 4: Adhere the piece of scrapbook paper to the wood, pushing down with your fingers or a flat tool. Add a layer of mod podge over the paper with your sponge or paint brush.
Allow about 20 minutes to dry.

Step 5 & 6: Repeat mod podge coats 2 or 3 more times, allowing each coat to dry in between. Once finished, hang your self for all to see!

No more suicidal scrapbook paper! It’s a beaut.

I’m a regular craft queen these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

