Wannabe Popeye

20120505-112726.jpg

Purple Popeye Goodness!

A sunny Saturday morning calls for a delicious, protein & nutrient-filled smoothie! Bonus points for being purple!

Breakfast smoothie – Popeye Style!

1/2 cup skim milk
1/2 cup plain kefir
1 scoop vanilla ice cream whey powder
1 banana
1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1 big handful of spinach leaves
2-3 ice cubes

20120505-112859.jpg

Yum!

Throw the ingredients in a high powered blender and turn that sucker on! About 30 seconds later you’ll be enjoying a refreshing purple smoothie full of calcium, protein, potassium, fiber and antioxidants.

Kefir is a fantastic alternative to Greek yogurt – it is a thinner consistency and can be poured right into the blender. Kefir’s active yeast and bacteria provide more nutritive value than regular yogurt, helping with digestion.

The whey protein is a staple in my diet, as I don’t eat a ton of animal protein. I usually have a scoop of vanilla ice cream whey in my breakfast smoothies, as a quick liquid meal after a hard run or workout and sometimes even add it to my baked goods. I limit my intake to one scoop each day, or sometimes every few days and try to lay off when I’m not working out or eating a lot of meat. It’s hard though – because I really love the stuff!

Delish!

Leave a Reply

