Get well soon kinda day!

Your well wishes, texts, fb shares, retweets and comments made my day yesterday! I almost didn’t need to break into my get well soon stash! But I did, because I could!

The Stash!

Since I spent the morning at the dermatologist’s office and worked the rest of the day from home, I decided to treat myself to a few of my favorite things. First up was a delish post-biopsy lunch. My face kinda hurt all day, but especially when I was chowing down on my veggie burrito bowl from Chipotle!

This is a pretty yummy "working" lunch!

Around 2pm, I had a special delivery! Gorgeous flowers delivered by my favorite – from 7,222 miles away! I truly believe the stems were personally selected and cut overseas, not at the florist down the street :).

::thank you::

Once my work day wrapped up around 6pm, I got into the good stuff! Cue a glass of red wine & Depression Muffins. My go-to, favorite, semi-healthy dessert EVER. I call them depression muffins, because I literally gravitate toward them when I’m in a grumpy mood. I figure I can have two, since they are soooo healthy. To whip up a batch, all you need is:

1 box of Devil’s Food cake mix

1 can of pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix!)

about a 1/2 cup of water

Note: you may have noticed, my recipes usually include approximately 3 ingredients. I’m easy.

So easy!

Empty your cake mix into a bowl, dump in the pumpkin and water and stir until well mixed. Since you aren’t adding eggs and oil, the dry mix can hide itself at the bottom of the bowl – make sure you give it a good mixing! This recipe will make 12 large cupcakes. Bake ’em at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Tip – the more water you add, the moister the muffins will be. Note, I do not call them cupcakes. Even when I frost them.

Ready to eat!

To accompany these chocolate-y, pumpkin-y muffins of goodness, I dove into a pint of Ben & Jerry’s new Greek Frozen Yogurt. I was sold at the idea of greek yogurt, but their extremely clever advertising literally sent me on a special trip to the store to hunt it down. It is creamy, flavorful and perfectly pairs with my muffins.

Love the advertising!

And it’s kinda healthy. 🙂

"Healthy" is debatable, "Delicious" is a given!

Then, to top off my “get happy” activities, I plopped down for a new episode of New Girl. I want to be Jess, or Zoey D, or CeeCee, I don’t really care who actually.

Along with my very fashionable face bandaids, I picked up a new nail color at CVS this morning. It is Essie brand called “sew psyched”. Ironic for two reasons. 1) it is camo colored, perfect accessory to my gansta bandaid and 2) “sew”… I just got my first stitch ever! Fate.

Sew Psyched!

I’d say all in all, it was a pretty successful biopsy day.

Oh! And wouldn’t you know, it is Skin Cancer Awareness Month. Do yourself a favor and learn more. Never second guess a gut feeling about something being funky and get to a dermatologist asap.

2 more weeks of waiting. I have to resist eating B&J’s every night or I’ll be sunk. Literally!

4 thoughts on “Get well soon kinda day!

  1. Nice flowers, very yummy sounding and looking muffins, very creative selection of the nail polish color! I guess if a biopsy day could be a good one, you had it. I am a firm believer in the power of positive thinking so know that we are all sending positive thoughts your way from Cincy. MK

  2. I want to try the Greek frozen yogurt! The B&J’s truck giving out free samples was outside my office the other day and I got super excited and stood there awkwardly for about 10 minutes before realizing it was just parked there and nobody was inside. What a letdown! So thanks for confirming that it’s awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

