Healthy Chicken Parm(ish)

First, I love coming home to the new addition to my entry way! So small & cute and unassuming. Welcome!

Now, onto the main attraction. Last night’s dinner was fab – a healthy, veggie-packed version of chicken parm, hence the (ish). I took a look around my kitchen to see how I could prepare the chicken that needed to be cooked in the fridge. I considered my go-to plain grilled chicken and sauteed kale, but frankly, I was in the mood for something a little more “home cooked meal” than that.

In come the breadcrumbs to save my night! I’d been picking up and moving the bag of crumbs from Trader Joe’s from in front of the oats and behind the olive oil for weeks now, but hadn’t thought to actually cook with them. Finally, I decided it was time to dress up my chicken into something delish and crispy, and man, did it hit the spot!

Ingredients for tonight included:

Serving size: 1 (only 2 more months!)

2 chicken tenders, raw

1/4 breadcrumbs, with a sprinkle of oregano and basil

1/3 cup skim milk

handful mushrooms

1 cup baby spinach

1 cup whole wheat penne pasta

traditional pasta sauce from TJ’s

First, I started the pasta boiling and then prepared the chicken. I poured about 1/3 a cup of skim milk into a bowl and mixed the crumbs and seasoning in another. With each piece of chicken, I first dredged the raw meat in the milk and then rolled it around in the crumbs until it was evenly coated. I plopped those suckers down into a skillet with heated olive oil and let them cook about 5 minutes on each side.

Once the pasta was cooked to a perfect al dente (just the way I like it), I emptied the pot and started on the veggies. Mushrooms in first with a little canola spray and then the spinach to wilt. After a few minutes, I threw the marinara in the pot with the pasta, covered it and let the veggie/pasta mixture heat through.

All in all, my prep and cook time was about 15 minutes and I only dirtied 1 pot, 1 pan and a colander. Pretty darn efficient!

The final result was just the right amount of crispy, breaded goodness balanced with fresh veggies and hearty whole wheat pasta. Top that all off with a little red wine and I was a happy camper.

Add in a 30 minute skype sesh (1st in 5 days!), giggles watching last week’s New Girl and (finally!) a new Modern Family and tonight was a success. Just missing the other half of my serving size, who I am sure is sitting halfway around the world thinking, she never breaded chicken when I was home! Something to look forward to! 🙂

One thought on “Healthy Chicken Parm(ish)

  1. Where did you get that really cute little chick thing on the shelf?!?!?! Sounds and looks like a good dinner. I’d make that in a heart beat if only Bernie liked chicken, whole wheat pasta or spinach. Ah well… MK

Leave a Reply

