Overnight (or Morning After) Oats

Let me introduce you to my new obsession… Morning After Oats (or the real name, Overnight Oats, but I think mine is way more fun). Here’s a meal that you prepare in advance, with a handful of ingredients, one dish and zero cooking. Beyond the convenience of it, I should also mention that the meal contains 10 g fiber, 25 g protein and 350 calories (not including your healthy toppings of choice).

I’m pretty sure it doesn’t get better than that! Let’s just say I’m on my 3rd bowl in 4 days. 🙂 I stumbled across this on my one of my favorite blogs, Peanut Butter Fingers, and made a few of my own changes. To whip this up, you’ll need:

1/2 cup dry oats (instant, quick, old fashioned or multi-grain, depending on your preferred thickness)

6oz Greek yogurt (plain or flavored – today, I went with peach!)

1/2 cup or so milk (I go for skim)

2 tbsp flax or chia seeds, whole

Literally all you do is combine and stir. Cover with a lid or plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes to 12 hours.

When you are ready to eat, stir it up, add a little more milk until it is the consistency you like and add any toppings you can think of. I’ve been slicing a banana and adding a handful of rice krispies for a little crunch. I eat mine cold, but I’ve heard you can microwave it for a warm oatmeal dish as well. Personally, I find the chilled oats refreshing at breakfast after a workout or at dinner after a long day. I’ve had them for lunch too…are you seeing the obsession pattern?

I’m full for hours and completely satisfied. This will be in constant rotation!

Also, brightening my morning were my gorgeous flowers from Mike that arrived yesterday. Thank you babe! Perfect way to start the day.

One thought on “Overnight (or Morning After) Oats

Leave a Reply

