Oats & Berries – My New Favorite Smoothie!

This morning’s breakfast was completely made up on the spot AND the most delicious breakfast I’ve had in ages! I’ve been vitamix-ing everyday, sometimes twice a day (!) and I have fallen in love with my new, partially liquid diet. So, this morning, I decided to mix it up a bit. Mostly, because my refrigerator and cupboards are close to bare.

Welcome to my “throw it all in” smoothie. Here’s what I found around my house:

cup of mixed frozen berries – strawberries, raspberries, blueberries

handful of walnuts

small handful of multi-grain oats

large scoop of vanilla ice cream protein powder

tbsp or so of flax oil

1/2 cup of reduced fat milk

an ice cube

I’ve been curious about adding nuts and oats to my breakfast smoothies – I see a lot of recipes including them, but have never tried them myself. The walnuts were a last minute add, and therefore not pictured…I saw them out of the corner of my eye, grabbed a handful and plopped ’em right in the vitamix. I seriously thing I could put anything in that thing and in a few seconds it would be obliterated to teeny, tiny pieces.

With the addition of the oats and the walnuts, I think I’ve found my perfect breakfast smoothie – it was fruity, nutty, hearty and seriously delish. I have no idea the actual nutritional information on the final product, but if I estimate, I think I’m looking at around 500 cals, 30ish fat grams and 35+ grams of protein. I try to eat around 2,000-2,200 calorie diet to help fuel my training, maintain body weight, and build muscle, so this is the perfect breakfast for me! It will definitely hold me over until noon, when today’s lunch includes poached salmon & a hard boiled egg over a mixed greens salad.

Happy Friday! Cheers!

PS – next on the to do list… how to take cool pictures of food. Struggles!

One thought on “Oats & Berries – My New Favorite Smoothie!

Leave a Reply

