Vitamix (temporary) owner!

On Tuesday, Mike left for his work trip… 90 days filled with g-chat, skype, care packages, flowers (hint), and just plain missing our time together. While he is gone, I do have a few perks to enjoy that revolve around electronics, exercise or engines, naturally. So, for 90 days, I am the temporary owner of 1 vitamix, 1 mazda cx7, 1 kindle and 1 TRX. BAM. I’m about to get healthy & happy with all the toys he left behind for me. 🙂

Saying goodbye to Mike was hard and I’m sure there will be a post or two about how much it stinks when he is gone or how much I miss him, but not yet. (Miss you babe!)

Once I got home, I went straight to work getting myself back in order. First, I jumped into running clothes and got outside for my first post-half run. Just a quick few miles across the Potomac into Georgetown and back home. The weather is gorgeous & nearing hot. Later this week is in the 80’s! It is March right???

Now, onto the main event – I want to play with my new toys! Mike and I have had the vitamix for a while, but he is the mix-master and I have never really used it myself. I was really excited to try a recipe for a green smoothie I found that had kale and sunflower seeds – two things I’ve been wanting to try in a smoothie. If you haven’t incorporated kale into your diet – do it, now! Kale is full of fiber, vitamin A, K and C and loaded with antioxidants and anti-inflammatory power. It is a diet detox wonder!

Kale, Carrot and Apple smoothie (1 serving)

3/4 cup carrot juice (I used a carrot blend from TJ’s)

1 cup rinsed kale

half a granny smith apple

1 tbsp raw sunflower seeds

1/2 tbsp flaxseed oil

juice from half a lemon

a little water (1/4 cup or so)

Throw it all in the vitamix and turn that sucker on high for about 30 seconds!

The finished product was the appropriate sickly green and delicious! Please, I’ll drink almost anything out of a wine glass!! Next time around, I will add a bit more lemon and perhaps some ginger root to give it some zing. I also prefer my smoothies super cold, so I might try it with a couple ice cubes. Not too sure what that will do to the texture, but we shall see!

My only complaint is using apples in the vitamix. They always make my drink frothy, which I don’t really like. I’m thinking grapes or maybe a pear substitute?

More recipes to come! My green smoothie is envious of the outdoors – it wants to be outside too!!

4 thoughts on “Vitamix (temporary) owner!

  1. sorry mary but i think that sounds AWFUL!!! and something green in a wine glass – sacrilegious. red and white only please. 3 days down and only 87 to go.

Leave a Reply

